Dianne Blumer Commissioner P.O. Box 111149 Juneau, AK 99811-1149 www.labor.alaska.gov



Beth Leschper Communications Director

> 907.465.2700 cell: 907.723.1321

beth.leschper@alaska.gov

Press Release

COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 24, 2014

No. 14-05

For more information: Krystyna Markiewicz, Consultation & Training Chief

Krystyna.Markiewicz@Alaska.Gov or 907-269-4955

## Safety Council Accepting Nominations for 2014 Safety and Health Awards

JUNEAU, Alaska—The Alaska Safety Advisory Council is accepting nominations for the following safety and health awards to be presented at the Governor's Safety and Health Conference on March 6, 2014, at Anchorage's Dena'ina Center.

- The Governor's Safety Award of Excellence Presented to groups demonstrating excellence in safety and health systems that protect their employees and promote corporate citizenship.
- **The William Childress Award** Presented to individuals who have retired with at least 20 years of work in the field of safety and health and have shown extraordinary ability in the field
- The Governor's Special Achievement Award Presented for special outstanding achievements in the field of safety and health that have made a significant and measureable impact on a community.
- The Everett Award Presented to individuals who are active members of the Alaska safety profession and have made substantial contributions and demonstrated extraordinary ability in the field of safety and health. Award nominees must have a minimum of 15 years in the field of safety and health, with at least five years in Alaska.

More information and qualifying criteria is available at  $\underline{www.2014GSHC.com}$ . Deadline for submission is 4 p.m. on Feb. 7.

###

Alaska Safety Advisory Council http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/asac.htm