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Truck Driver FAQ 

 
1. What is the Little Davis Bacon Act, and how 
is it different from the Davis Bacon Act? 
The Little Davis Bacon Act (LDBA) is a set of 
state laws in Alaska Statutes Title 36, which 
establishes prevailing wages and associated 
requirements for labor on public construction 
contracts awarded for the State of Alaska, or a 
political subdivision of the state that exceed 
$25,000.00. 

The Davis Bacon Act (DBA) is a set of federal 
laws applicable to federal public construction 
projects that exceed $2,000.00. Some projects may 
be subject to both state and federal requirements. 
In these cases, construction contractors should 
comply with the most stringent provisions of both 
sets of laws. 

 
The Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development, (DOLWD) publishes the prevailing 
wages required in the LDBA twice per year at: 
http://www.labor.alaska.gov/lss/pamp600.htm 

 
2. When am I entitled to State Prevailing 
Wages? A truck driver is entitled to prevailing 
wages when they perform work “on-site,” a 
public construction project. “On-site” work 
areas include but are not limited to fabrication 
plants, mobile factories, batch 
plants, borrow pits, rock quarries, job headquarters 
and tool yards. 

 
Truck drivers are also entitled to prevailing wages 
for all round trip truck driving activities, including 
mobilization and demobilization activities. There 
are specific exceptions for employees of bona fide 
material suppliers and common carriers who 
perform mere delivery. 

 

3. Are employees who drive a truck for a “bona 
fide material supplier” or “common carrier,” 
entitled to State Prevailing Wages? 
No, unless they perform work other than mere 
delivery, such as stocking materials on floors, in 
buildings or in multiple locations, or perform 
construction activities while “on-site” the public 
construction contract. 

 
4. What is a “Bona Fide Material Supplier”? 
Bona fide material suppliers are viewed as an 
established enterprise with a permanent source of 
materials, rather than an enterprise who purchases the 
material from another source and transports that 
material to a project. The ability to supply the material 
as advertised and contracted for is not the governing 
factor used to determine the validity of a bona fide 
material supplier. A bona fide material supplier serves 
the public in general, and supplies sand, gravel, ready 
mix concrete, hot asphalt, or other construction 
material to both public and private entities. A bona 
fide material supplier’s existence or operation is NOT 
dedicated exclusively or nearly so to one or more 
public construction projects. 

 
5. What is a “Common Carrier” 
Common Carriers are commercial enterprises that 
advertise to the public. They offer transportation 
services for freight or passengers, and deliver multiple 
types of freight to multiple clients for both public and 
private construction on a recurring basis. Common 
carriers do not include an enterprise whose existence 
or continuing operations rely exclusively or nearly so 
on one or more public construction projects. Freight 
does not include dirt, sand, gravel, rock or other 
naturally occurring earth materials. 

 
6. How much should I be paid? 
-Employees must be paid no less than the prevailing 
rate of pay for the classification of work performed. 
-Bona fide owner operators must be paid no less than 
the prevailing rate of pay for the classification of work 
performed. Contractual amounts in excess of the 
required prevailing wage rate shall be paid in 
accordance with your contract. After deducting 
operating expenses, the payment received by an owner 

operator must not be less than the prevailing rate of 
pay. For Frequency of pay, please see #7. 

 
7. What if I am not paid the rate shown 
in Pamphlet 600? 
Employees can be paid more than the minimum 
prevailing rate of pay, but cannot be paid less. If you 
receive less than the prevailing rate of pay, please 
contact the Alaska Wage and Hour. 

 
8. How often should I be paid? 
-Employees must be paid weekly and 
unconditionally. 
-Bona fide owner operator truck drivers must be paid 
each certified payroll-reporting period, not less than 
once every two weeks. For rates of pay, please see #5 

 
9. Am I entitled to overtime? 
Eligible employees are entitled to overtime pay at 
1.5 times the regular rate of pay for hours worked 
in excess of 8 hours in a day and 40 straight-time 
hours in a workweek. Fringe benefits are paid at a 
flat rate for all hours worked on public construction 
and are not included when calculating the regular 
rate of pay. 

 
10. What should my overtime rate of pay be if 
I work on multiple projects during the 
workweek? 
If you worked as an employee at more than one rate 
of pay and earned overtime, the overtime rate must 
be calculated using the weighted average method. If 
you need assistance, please contact the Alaska Wage 
and Hour. 

11. How do I keep track of my hours? 
You should keep an accurate account of all your 
time worked. Keep a log that shows the date the 
work was done, the time spent on the project, the 
project name and number, the equipment used and 
your mileage. You should also have a brief note of 
what you were doing at the time; i.e., hauling 
equipment from one job site to another, hauling 
material from a pit (location) to a project, 
loading/unloading, etc. You should also keep 
copies of all truck tickets for your records. 

http://www.labor.alaska.gov/lss/pamp600.htm


 
12. Am I an employee or an independent 
contractor (owner/operator)? 
“Red flags” are raised when a truck driver does 
not own their own truck and they lease a truck to 
perform work for a 
broker/subcontractor/contractor. Some other red 
flags are: 
• A driver is required to purchase a business 
license, a Workers’ Compensation Insurance 
Policy, or Liability Insurance Policy, or a broker 
purchases one for them. 
• A driver is told where to park the truck at night. 
• A driver is not free to work where, when, or 
for whom they want. 
• A driver does not bear their own operating 
expenses; a broker deducts costs for fuel, grease, 
brake fluid, antifreeze, windshield fluid, insurance, 
maintenance, or repair of the truck from the 
driver’s pay. 
• A driver does not advertise their services to 
the public or find their own work. 
• A driver has little to no investment in their 

business. 
• A driver cannot realize a profit or loss based on 
how they manage the business. 

You are encouraged to contact your nearest Wage 
and Hour office with any questions. 

 
13 Do I have to submit my own certified 
payroll? It depends. Under Alaska law, each 
contractor, subcontractor or owner operator who 
performs work on a public construction contract 
must submit their certified payroll to the 
Department by the Friday of every second week. 

Employee truck drivers must be listed on the 
certified payroll of the contractor who hired them. 

 
If you are a bona fide owner operator who 
operates your own business and cannot 
reasonably be considered an employee of the 
contractor who has arranged for your services, 
then you are required to file your own certified 
payrolls when you perform work on a public 
construction contract. 

If you are a sole proprietor, or an LLC/LLP who does 
not file your taxes as a corporation, and you cannot 
reasonably be considered an employee of the 
contractor who has arranged for your services, you 
must file certified payroll as an owner operator. For 
each workweek, you must report the hours you 
worked, the rates you are due under your contract, and 
the date and amount of any progress payment you 
receive. For a week when you are not paid, make the 
notation “owner operator not paid” across the 
deductions line. 

 
If you are incorporated, or you are an LLC/LLP that 
files your taxes as a corporation, then you are an 
employee of the entity that you created and you do not 
qualify as an owner operator. As an employee, you 
must be reported on certified payroll in the same 
manner as any other employee, including the hours 
you worked, the rates of pay you are due, any 
deductions taken from your wages, and like any other 
employee, you must be paid weekly and 
unconditionally. 

 
14. What information is required on certified 
payrolls? 
The Wage and Hour provides Form 07-6058 for your 
convenience. Before submitting the 
form, ensure all blank spaces have been filled out. The 
form is available on our website located here: 
http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/lssforms.htm. Alternately, 
you may submit a customized certified payroll form. 
However, any form you submit must contain the same 
information and statement of compliance required by 
FORM 07-6058. If you need assistance, please contact 
the Alaska Wage and Hour. 

15. What if a contractor fails to pay prevailing 
wages, refuses to submit certified payroll, or 
intentionally furnishes false information to the 
Department? 
In addition to being subject to debarment for a period 
of three years, contractors who violate Alaska’s 
prevailing wage laws may face criminal and/or civil 
prosecution, which may result in jail time, and or 
fines. 
 

****************************************** 
Free Wage and Hour Webinars: 

Wage and Hour is now providing interactive online 
webinars covering basic wage and hour laws for 
employers, contractors and employees. 
Wage and Hour Laws/Child Labor Laws - Every 
third Tuesday of every month from 9:00 a.m. to 
noon. 
Public Construction and Prevailing Wage - Every 
third Wednesday of every month from 9:00 a.m. to 
noon. 
Please contact our office at (907) 269-4900 for 
registration. 

************************************** 
Where can I find answers regarding: 

• Alaska Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 
Department of Transportation 
Division of Measurement Standards and 
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement 
dot.state.ak.us 
dot.state.ak.us/mscve/main.cfm 
1-800-478-7636 

• Federal Payroll Tax Deductions? 
Federal Taxes - IRS 
www.irs.gov 
1-800-829-1040 

• Alaska Payroll Tax 
Deductions? AK Unemployment 
Insurance Taxes Employment 
Security Tax 
labor.alaska.gov/estax/ 
907-269-4820 

• Workers Compensation? 
State of Alaska 
Division of Worker’s Compensation 
labor.alaska.gov/wc/home/htm 
907-465-2790 

• Unemployment Insurance Benefits? 
www.labor.state.alaska.gov/
esd 907-269-4700 
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