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January 2, 2024 
 
 

Dear Employers and Employees, 
 

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Wage and Hour office (Department) 
has developed this letter to provide clarity to some of the most common labor laws as they pertain to 
the shore-based fish processing industry. For the purpose of education, this letter is being made 
available as an industry-wide notice to inform employers and employees of these requirements. The 
issues that have been most frequently found in the complaints and subsequent enforcement activities 
are: 

 
• The absence of written hiring agreements between the employer and the employee; 

 
• Changes to the rate of pay without the required written notice; 

 
• Payment of wages and overtime inconsistent with the Alaska Wage and Hour Act; 

 
• Nonpayment of wages for all hours worked; 

 
• Insufficient or non-existent records of all daily and weekly hours worked by every employee; 

 
• Employees subjected to unlawful deductions from wages, the withholding of paychecks, or 

the reimbursement to employers for room and board above statutory limits and without 
written authorization; 

 
• Employees not being fully paid within the required time frames after termination; 

 
• Employees not being provided return transportation when the employer is required to do so; 

 
• Employees exposed to amputation hazards from improperly de-energized or unguarded 

equipment (AKOSH); 
 

• Inadequate safety training or safety training not presented in language understood by the 
employee (AKOSH). 

 
To repeat, this letter has been developed for the purpose of education and addresses complaints and 
misunderstandings often found within the fish processing industry. We will address each of these 
issues in this letter and we are always available to discuss any follow-up questions you may have. 
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Written Hiring Agreements and Changes in the Rate of Pay 
 

Under Alaska Labor law employers must provide all employees with a written notice of three things: 
their rate of pay, where they will be receiving payment, and the established pay day of not less than 
once per month (weekly, bi-weekly, monthly). Any time the employer elects to make a change to any 
of the three items in this agreement, they must provide the employee with another written notification 
no later than on the payday before the time of change. The change cannot be made in the middle of a 
pay period and cannot be retroactive.1 

 
Minimum Wage and Overtime 

 
Except as otherwise provided for in law, an employer is required to pay each employee a minimum 
wage, for all hours worked in a pay period, whether the work is measured by time, piece, commission 
or otherwise. 
 
The Alaska minimum wage is currently $11.73 per hour as of January 1, 2024 and is adjusted annually. 
Barring any allowable exemptions, an employee who works over 8 hours in a day and/or more than 40 
straight-time hours in a week must be paid 1.5 times their regular rate2 of pay. (This requirement of 
the law is referred to as “overtime”).3 Furthermore, if an employee is paid at more than one rate of pay 
for work performed during a workweek, the overtime is to be calculated by using a weighted average 
formula.4  
 
If the work is directed by or allowed by the employer or if the employer has reason to suspect that the 
employee performed work, the time spent working is compensable time.5 

 
Accurate Record of Hours Worked 

 
An employer shall keep an accurate record of all the daily and weekly hours worked by each person.6 
A mere record of hours scheduled may not be sufficient to account for all the hours actually worked by 
the employee. As a best practice, employees should also keep a record of hours separately from their 
employer’s so they can check the employer’s accounting for accuracy at the time of payment. This 
record could also serve as evidence of hours worked in the event a dispute over wages occurs. 

 
Breaks and Down Time 

 
If an employee is completely relieved from all duties for a period of 20 minutes or more during which 
the employee may use the time effectively for his/her own purpose, then the period can be classified as 
a break and need not be counted as time worked.7 Again, the employer is expected to keep an accurate 
record of the daily and weekly hours worked by each employee to assure proper payment for all time 
worked. Taking deductions for meal periods that were provided but not taken by the employee, or 
wherein the employee was not completely relieved of all duties while eating is prohibited. 
 

          
1 AS 23.05.160 
2 8 AAC 15.100 
3 AS 23.10.060 
4 29 C.F.R. §778.115 
5 29 C.F.R. §785.11 
6 AS 23.05.080 
7 29 C.F.R. §785.18 
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Orientation and Training 
 

Time spent in orientation and training that is directly related to the employee’s job, given by or under 
the control of the employer is considered work time and is therefore compensable time. 

 
Attendance at lectures, meetings, training programs and similar activities need not be counted as 
working time if all four of the following criteria are met: 

 

(a) Attendance is outside of the employee’s regular working hours; 
(b) attendance is in fact voluntary; 
(c) the course, lecture, or meeting is not directly related to the employee’s job; and 
(d) the employee does not perform any productive work during such attendance.8 

 
However, it is not voluntary in fact, if the employee is led to believe that their present working 
conditions or the continuance of their employment would be adversely affected by nonattendance. 

 
The training is considered to be directly related to the employee's job if it is designed to make the 
employee handle their job more effectively as distinguished from training him for another job, or to a 
new or additional skill. Time spent in such a course given by the employer or under his control is hours 
worked.9 

 
Deductions 

 

An employer and employee may enter into a written agreement to provide for deductions of monetary 
obligations of an employee. Requiring an employee to give up wages to which they are entitled 
through force, intimidation, or threat of dismissal from employment, or any other manner is prohibited. 
A written agreement for deductions is not valid if it would reduce the employee’s wage rate below the 
statutory minimum wage and overtime rates. 

 
An employer may deduct from an employee’s wage for the following based on written agreement: 

 
• A deduction from wages could be made based on a written agreement signed by the employee, 

directing the employer to provide wages for the employee’s benefit to a creditor, donee, or 
other third party. An example of this type of deduction would be payments to an employee’s 
medical insurance plan or retirement plan. 

• Deductions, based on a written agreement signed by an employee, for charges for items which 
are made available for the employee’s benefit, and are not sold to the public in the employer’s 
usual course of business, and are purchased voluntarily by the employees. Examples of 
deductions include: pop, candy, cigarettes, magazines, books, etc., made available through the 
company’s store. These types of deductions may be treated as an advance against wages and 
may be deducted from minimum wage or overtime. In order to be considered an advance the 
deducted charges must not extend beyond the pay period in which they were incurred. Charges 
that are split over multiple pay periods would be classified as a loan and may not reduce the 
employees wage rate below minimum wage or overtime rate. 

 

An employer may not deduct from an employee’s wages for the following: 
 

• Lost, missing, or stolen property, unless the employee admits willingly and in writing to having 

          
8 29 C.F.R. §785.27 
9 29 C.F.R. §785.29 
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personally taken the specific property alleged to be lost, missing or stolen. 
• Damage or breakage costs, unless clearly due to willful conduct of the employee and the 

employee has acknowledged responsibility in writing. 
• For a more thorough list of unlawful deductions see Alaska regulation 8 AAC 15.160. 

 
Uniforms: 

An employer may not require an employee to purchase a uniform or equipment if its use is 
required by the federal, state, or local safety or health codes. Additionally, purchase cannot be 
required if the nature of the business requires the use of the uniform or equipment, and if the 
uniform is distinctive and advertises the products or services of the employer and cannot be worn 
or used during normal social activities of the employee. An employer may charge for clothing or 
equipment that constitutes a uniform and that advertises the products or services of the business if 
the item is customarily sold to the public by the employer10 and can be worn or used during normal 
social activities of the employee. 

 

Room and Board 
 

When an employee lives at the home, the employer is allowed to deduct an amount from the 
employee’s wages for the reasonable cost of room and board. The amount of this deduction must be 
reasonable and without profit to the employer and based on a written agreement signed by the 
employee. Use of the facilities must be voluntarily, and no deduction for room and board is lawful in 
any situation in which an employer requires an employee to use the employer-provided facilities. 
Hiring or firing of employees based upon the employee’s willingness to authorize deductions for 
room and board costs from their check is not considered voluntary.11 
  
Furthermore, unless the employer and the employee have a written agreement, that meets the 
requirements of Alaska regulation 8 AAC 15.160, signed by the employee, before the deduction, the 
employer is prohibited from seeking to retroactively deduct the cost of room and board from their 
wages as an offset against wages due upon termination or wage deficiencies subject to collection by 
the department. An employer may deduct an amount from the minimum wage or overtime rates set 
out under AS 23.10 of an employee’s earnings, to reimburse an employer for the reasonable cost of 
furnishing board or lodging based on a written agreement. A deduction of $20 per day or less for 
board or lodging will not require a determination by the director unless evidence indicates that the 
deductions unreasonable for the board or lodging provided or results in a profit to the employer. 
Before an employer decides they will implement a room and board agreement, they should consult 
Alaska Regulation 8 AAC 15.160(d) for the full list of requirements.12  

 
 

Right to Return Transportation and Subsistence 
 

An employer who provides, pays for, agrees to provide or pay for transportation for a person from the 
place of hire to a point inside or outside the state to employ the person shall, when the job comes to 
an end, provide the person with return transportation to the place of hire, or to a destination agreed 
upon by both parties.13 This is defined as all transportation costs to return the employee only to the 

          
10 8 AAC 15.165 
11 8 AAC 15.160 
12 8 AAC 15.160 
13 AS 23.10.380 
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original place of hire.14 
 
Return transportation is subject to the following conditions: 

 
• Must be provided on or after termination of employment for a cause considered good and 

sufficient by the Department, or for reasons beyond the persons control, or after termination of 
the contract of employment or a renewal of the contract. 

• Must be provided to the eligible employee when requested by the employee or the Department 
within 45 days after termination. 

 
If an employer terminates an employee to whom return transportation is due, return transportation must 
be provided unless reason for termination is: 

 
1) Falsification of the employment application; 
2) Intoxication; 
3) Fighting; or 
4) Unexcused absence from duties for more than three consecutive scheduled working days. 

 
Return transportation is not due if an employee voluntarily terminates their position unless the 
employee’s reason for termination is one of the following: 

1) Misrepresentation of wages, working hours, lodging, or other conditions of employment; or 
2) Working conditions of employer-provided lodging that is unsafe or unhealthy.15 

 
When an employee is owed return transportation and immediate transportation back to the point of hire 
is unavailable, the employee is entitled to subsistence. Subsistence is due from the date of termination 
until the date that transportation becomes available, or for 10 days, whichever occurs first.16 
 
Subsistence is defined as board and lodging furnished by the employer or $100 per day furnished by 
employer for living expenses.17 
 

Proof of Earnings/Paycheck Stubs 
 

An employer must provide each employee a written or electronic statement of earnings and deductions 
for each pay period, otherwise known as a pay stub. The statement of earnings and deductions must 
contain the employee’s: 

 
• Rate of pay; 
• Gross wages; 
• Net wages; 
• Beginning and end dates of the pay period; 
• Federal income tax deductions; 
• Federal Insurance Contribution Act deductions; 
• Alaska Employment Security Act contributions; 
• Board and lodging costs; 
• Advances; 

          
14 8 AAC 20.030(1) 
15 8 AAC 20.010 
16 8 AAC 20.020 
17 8 AAC 20.030(2) 
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• Straight time and overtime hours actually worked in the pay period; 
• Other authorized deductions.18 

 
Final Paycheck 

 

If the employment is terminated by the employee, payment is due at the next regular payday that is at 
least three days after the employer received notice of the employee’s termination of services. If 
employment is terminated by the employer, regardless of the cause for the termination, payment is due 
within three working days after the day of termination.19 The day of termination, weekends, and bank 
or state holidays, are not included in these three days. Where an employer violates this statute, the 
employer may be required to pay the employee a penalty in the amount of the employee’s regular 
wage, salary or other compensation from the time of demand to the time of payment, or for 90 working 
days, whichever is the lesser amount. Final paychecks are to be provided to the employee in the same 
manner that they normally receive them or an agreed upon manner. Employers should not take it upon 
themselves to mail final paychecks to the employee unless the employee agrees to this method. If final 
paychecks are mailed, we suggest that the employer verifies the address before sending the final 
paycheck and pay statement. 

 
Employers may not hold an employee’s final paychecks regardless of real or perceived debts owed to 
the employer. (See section on deductions for lawful withholding from an employees paycheck.). 

 

Workers’ Compensation Coverage 
 

Any business operating in Alaska with even one part-time employee is required to carry workers’ 
compensation insurance under Alaska Statute 23.30.075. The policy must be bound in the State of 
Alaska; Alaska is not a reciprocal state and does not recognize coverage bound in any other state or 
country, even if the policy purports to cover an injury occurring in Alaska. There is no exemption for 
family members or friends for purposes of workers’ compensation liability. Employee status is 
determined using the independent contractor definition found in Alaska Statute 23.30.230(a)(12). The 
criteria in this definition are all-inclusive. Penalties for not having workers’ compensation coverage 
are severe. It is a crime under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act for employers to misclassify 
employees or deduct all or any portion of workers’ compensation premiums from an employee’s 
paycheck. If you have questions regarding workers’ compensation requirements, please download and 
review the Employer’s Guide to the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act at 
https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/publications/employer_guide_to_wc_act.pdf or contact the Alaska Division of 
Workers’ Compensation at (907) 269-4002 

 
Alaska Occupational Safety and Health 

 

All employees in Alaska have the right to a safe and healthy work environment under Alaska Statutes 
18.60.10 through AS 18.60.105. Alaska Occupational Safety and Health (AKOSH) enforces these 
standards through inspections of workplaces. Some of the most commonly found serious hazards are 
unguarded or improperly guarded machinery, insufficient Lock-out Tag-out work practices and 
insufficient safety training. Often times, safety related training is not offered in all languages spoken 
by employees. AKOSH may inspect a workplace based on an employee complaint, report of a 
workplace injury, or through emphasis programs. Employees have the right to submit workplace 
safety concerns to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) or AKOSH by phone, 
online or in person.  Names of complainants are confidential and are not disclosed to employers. 
Furthermore, both State and Federal law prohibit employers from retaliating or discriminating against 

          
18 8 AAC 15.160 
19 AS 23.05.140 

https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/publications/employer_guide_to_wc_act.pdf
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employees who exercise their safety and health rights by filing complaints with management, AKOSH 
or OSHA (AS 18.60.089). Finally, employers are required to verbally report any workplace accident 
that results in a death, amputation, loss of eye or inpatient hospitalization within 8 hours to AKOSH 
(AS 18.60.58). 

 
Anchorage Seafood Office 

 

Located within the Anchorage Job Center Midtown at 3301 Eagle Street, Room #102. The Seafood 
Office is the crossroads for Alaska's seafood workers and many seafood employers recruit directly 
from there. The following services are offered: 
 

• Seafood Orientations - Learn about working in the Alaskan seafood industry. 
• Referrals and job placements based on jobseeker skills. 

 
Office Hours: 
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m.- 5 p.m. 
 
To reach the Anchorage Seafood Office, call (907) 269-4746. Their website can be found at: 
https://jobs.alaska.gov/seafood/processing.html  
 

Resources 
 
In conclusion, a business that is involved in practices that are not consistent with Alaska Wage and 
Hour laws must correct the discrepancies immediately to avoid future enforcement actions.  
 
We hope that your organization will take this opportunity to conduct an internal review and 
voluntarily make any wage adjustments. We have noted several applicable statutes and regulations 
for your review. Employers are encouraged to conduct a complete review of Alaska’s wage and 
hour laws and regulations as published in the Pamphlet 100 publication, which can be found at: 
http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/pam100.pdf 

The Wage and Hour office provides a cost-free counseling service to Alaska employers, and we 
invite you to take advantage of this service. A regular, monthly webinar is offered to employers 
and employees concerning wage and hour laws. Check our website for the webinar schedule and 
contact our office at (907) 269-4900 for registration. In addition, an investigator is on duty 
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. excluding the noon hour, to 
answer any questions you may have. 

Our website can be found at: http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm 
 
Through AKOSH, employers can request on-site evaluation visits and/or training to fit specific 
needs of their companies by filling out and submitting the online request form located at 
https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/consultation_training_form.pdf 
 
Alternatively, you may wish to contact a private attorney. The Alaska Lawyer Referral Service may 
be able to assist you with locating an attorney to address your specific concerns. You may contact 
this office at 1-800-770-9999 or visit the following website for additional information: 
https://alaskabar.org/  

https://jobs.alaska.gov/seafood/processing.html
http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/pam100.pdf
http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm
https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/consultation_training_form.pdf
https://alaskabar.org/
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