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INTRODUCTION
You are responsible to read and become familiar 

with this handbook. Many of your Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) questions are answered here. If your 
question is not answered here, you will find links for 
more information and division contacts to help you 
with your UI questions on our website at  
labor.alaska.gov/unemployment.

The information in this handbook is based on but does 
not replace, Alaska Statute (23.20) and Title 8, Chapter 
85, (8 AAC 85) of the Alaska Administrative Code.

If English is not your first language and you 
need answers to questions in your language, please 
contact your nearest claim center at the phone 
number on page 22 of this handbook. Telephone 
interpreter services are provided at no cost to you.

Kung hindi Ingles ang iyong unang wika at 
kailangan mo ng sagot sa iyong mga katanungan, 
mangyaring tawagan mo lamang ang pinakamalapit na 
claim center sayo sa numero ng telepono sa pahina 22 
ng handbook na ito. Ang mga serbisyo ng interpreter 
ng telepono ay ibinibigay nang libre para sayo.

Si el inglés no es su primer idioma y necesita 
respuestas en español, comuníquese con su centro 
de reclamos más cercano al número de teléfono que 
aparece en la página 22 de este manual. Los servicios de 
intérprete se proporcionan sin costo alguno para usted.

Program Integrity
Program integrity is the number one focus of the 

UI program. Our goal is to improve program integrity 
by reducing improper payments. You are required 
to provide the department with timely, accurate and 
complete information to determine or reexamine 
eligibility for any claim or audit conducted by the 
division or its representatives.

Fraud
Alaska law imposes severe penalties for attempting 

to collect benefits to which you are not entitled. For UI 
purposes, fraud is knowingly making a false statement, 
misrepresenting a material fact, or withholding 
information to obtain benefits. You will be required to 
repay the benefits. You also may have to pay a penalty 
equal to 50% of the benefits that were paid to you as a 

https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/


5

result of the misrepresentation. Also, current and future 
benefits may be withheld. All fraud cases are subject to 
criminal prosecution, fines, and imprisonment.

If you suspect that a business or an individual is 
committing fraud, please contact us:

	 Email:	 uifraud@alaska.gov
	 Fax: 	 (907) 269-4835
	 Phone:	 (907) 269-4880
	 Toll-free:	 (877) 272-4635

GENERAL
Benefit year

A “benefit year” is typically 52 weeks following the 
effective date of your claim. The effective date of your 
claim is Sunday of the week in which you file.

Amount/duration of benefits
The maximum weekly benefit amount in Alaska 

is $370. The minimum weekly benefit amount is $56. 
Your claim is based on wages paid to you in the first 
four of the last five completed calendar quarters from 
when you file your claim. (See diagram below.) If you 
do not qualify for a regular base period claim, you may 
be eligible for an alternate base period claim. This 
uses wages earned in the last four completed calendar 
quarters from when you filed your claim.

If you have worked in another state during the 
benefit year, those wages may be requested to increase 
your weekly benefit amount, or you may choose to file 
for benefits with the other state. However, you may not 
file against more than one state at a time. The duration 
of benefits is 16 to 26 weeks, depending on the amount 
and distribution of wages paid in the base period.

Regular base period

mailto:uifraud%40alaska.gov?subject=
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Benefits are taxable
When you file your federal income tax return, 

you must report 100% of the benefits paid. We 
will send you a 1099-G form by Jan. 31. You can 
print your 1099-G online through myAlaska, when 
available. Ensure your address is current with us to 
receive your 1099-G.

You may request that 10% of benefits be 
withheld for taxes. You can start or stop tax 
withholdings when filing online, or by calling your 
UI claim center. We cannot refund any money 
withheld.

Social Security numbers
To protect your privacy, Social Security numbers 

(SSN) are no longer displayed on documents mailed 
to you. A client ID number is displayed instead. Your 
SSN will still be used in correspondence with your 
former employer and shared with other government 
agencies such as Social Security Administration and 
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Dependent allowances
You may be eligible to receive an additional 

allowance of $24 per week per child, for up to 
three children. A dependent is your natural child, 
stepchild (by marriage), legally adopted child or 
court-appointed legal ward. Your dependent must 
be unmarried and under the age of 18 unless 
they have a permanent disability. You may be 
asked to provide documentation for dependent 
allowance eligibility.

A dependent must reside with you, or you must 
certify that you have provided more than 50% of 
the dependent’s support over the past 12 months 
or since the loss of custody. If you certify that you 
provided more than 50% support, you may be 
required to submit proof. You can add a dependent 
to our claim anytime during your benefit year 
before exhausting your regular benefits. To add a 
dependent, call your UI claim center.
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ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS and  
CLAIMANT RESPONSIBILITY

As a claimant filing for UI benefits, you are 
responsible for:
1.	 Registering for work as directed by your local 

state workforce agency.
2.	 Actively seeking suitable full-time employment.
3.	 Reporting weekly employer work search contacts.
4.	 Reporting all work activity and earnings for 

each week you file.

IMPORTANT: U.S. Postal Service does not 
forward UI mail. You are responsible to maintain a 
current mailing address with our agency. You can 
update your address online, while filing for benefits, 
or by calling the UI claim center. Work registration 
requirements may change.

Ready and able to work
You must be physically able and available to seek 

and accept suitable full-time work.
If you apply for or become a recipient of Workers’ 

Compensation or Social Security Disability, you must 
report this to your claim center as your UI benefits 
may be affected. Employers and department staff must 
be able to contact you. You must have transportation 
(car, bus, walk, etc.) to get to work and childcare 
options available if you are offered employment.

You may not be considered available for full-time 
work if you are incarcerated or have legal restrictions. 
Incarceration is being confined in a correctional 
center, city jail, or community residential center. Legal 
restrictions include, but are not limited to, electronic 
monitoring or being subject to third-party custody.

Suitable work means work you are suited for by 
experience or training, that meets the prevailing wage 
and working conditions for your locality, and is realistic 
to your labor market. You are expected to be flexible 
in your work searches and to accept suitable work 
even if the pay is less than you earned in your last job.

Self-employment is not considered suitable work 
for UI purposes.
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Registration for work
If you are in Alaska and you are instructed to 

register for work, you must register for work 
and post a resume online in AlaskaJobs at 
alaskajobs.alaska.gov. If you have already posted 
your resume in AlaskaJobs, you must make sure it 
is current and accessible online. Your resume must 
be posted online in AlaskaJobs within seven days 
of filing your new or reopened claim. It is your 
responsibility to check your resume often and verify 
the date your registration will inactivate on the “My 
Resumes” page in AlaskaJobs.

If you are a member of a dispatching union, you 
must be in good standing and on your union’s out-
of-work list. If you are outside of Alaska, you must 
register with the local state workforce agency office or 
with the local chapter of a dispatching union. Proof of 
out-of-state registration may be requested.

To register for work in AlaskaJobs go online to 
alaskajobs.alaska.gov or call your nearest job center.

Work search contact requirements
You may be required to search for work with an 

employer each week you file for benefits. Work must 
be suitable based on your skills and capabilities. 
The work search information you provide may 
be reviewed and selected for audit, which means 
the employer you provide will be contacted for 
verification. It is important to document and save the 
information while filing for benefits. To be considered 
valid, you must contact an employer or person with 
the authority to hire, using a method of contact 
appropriate for the occupation (e.g., in-person, 
telephone, fax, mail, email or employer website).

For each work search, you are required to report
•	 date of contact,
•	 name of employer contacted, and
•	 method of contact.
If you do not search for work each week or follow 

work search requirements, benefits may be denied.
Report your work searches when filing. For more 

information on work searches, visit labor.alaska.
gov/unemployment/work_search.htm.

https://alaskajobs.alaska.gov/vosnet/Default.aspx
https://alaskajobs.alaska.gov/vosnet/Default.aspx
https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/work_search.htm
https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/work_search.htm
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Reemployment Services
The Reemployment Services program is for job 

seekers who need information to rapidly return to suitable 
work. Employment and training resources are available 
through the Alaska Job Center Network online, and from 
Alaska’s statewide job centers. If you are selected to 
participate in a Reemployment Services program, you 
must complete all requirements as instructed. Failure 
to do so may result in denial of your UI benefits.

Quit, fired, refused work
You must report if you quit your job, are fired, 

or refuse work, so a determination of eligibility can 
be made. Potential penalties include a six-week 
disqualification period beginning with the first week 
you are unemployed, plus a three-week reduction 
in benefits. You also may be ineligible for Extended 
Benefits. If you return to work during the six-week 
disqualification period, contact a UI claim center, as 
your disqualification may be lifted.

Attending school or training
You may be eligible to receive benefits while 

attending approved vocational or academic training. 
If you are enrolled in or attending school or training, 
report your school or training when you file your 
weekly claim or call your UI claim center.

WORK, WAGES, INCOME
We compare what you report with other 

sources to verify accuracy. Refer to the section 
on Fraud (Page 4) for information relating to 
the misrepresentation of work or earnings.

Work
Reportable work includes time spent on self-

employment, volunteer activities, or anything you do 
for wages, whether paid or not, during the seven days 
of the week you claim. Even if you are only working 
part-time or temporarily, all work and earnings, 
including tips and commissions, must be reported 
when you file your weekly certifications.
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Wages
Wages are any kind of payment you receive for the 

work you do, including room and board, goods, barter, 
tips, commission, stipend, honorarium, per diem, COLA, 
payment for jury duty, bonuses and back pay.

You must report your gross wages earned each 
week, Sunday through Saturday, whether you were 
paid or not. Report the amount earned before any 
deductions (your gross pay). Report the employer’s 
name and address, dates, and number of hours 
worked per week, and your employment status.

If you are unsure of the number of hours worked 
or how much you earned, you can file up to seven days 
after the date you were paid. But, if you wait, you will 
need to call the UI claim center to file and report these 
wages, and your payment may be delayed.

National Guard members called to active duty 
must report encampments and wages earned. Do not 
report weekend drills.

If you are currently employed on an alternating or 
rotating work schedule — such as two weeks on, two 
weeks off — you may not be considered unemployed 
during your scheduled time off. Report your work 
schedule to your UI claim center.

How wages affect your benefits
You must report all the wages you earned each 

week. Your benefit payment will be reduced by 75 cents 
for each dollar you earn over $50. If you do not know 
how much you earned at the time you report, call the 
UI claim center within seven days with the correct wage 
amount. Reporting less than you earned could result in an 
overpayment of benefits that you will have to repay.

Excess earnings
If you have gross wages equal to or greater 

than 11/3 times your weekly benefit amount plus 
$50, you will not receive a benefit payment for that 
week. To locate your excess earnings amount, use 
your monetary determination or access it online at 
my.alaska.gov. Click on “View Your Services,” then 
“Unemployment Insurance Benefits,” then “Current UI 
Claim Status” and “Work Search Requirements.”

https://my.alaska.gov/
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Other deductible income
When you are filing for benefits you must report 

the gross amount of any of the following payments: 
vacation, holiday, sick, pension, retirement, severance, 
commission, bonus, wages in lieu of notice, and back 
pay awards. Changes in your gross pension amount 
must be immediately reported to the UI claim center. 
A deduction may be taken from your weekly benefits 
if you receive any of these payments. Social Security 
benefit payments are not deducted.

TRAVEL/RELOCATE
You must report all travel when filing for benefits. 

This includes any in-state travel. You are in travel 
status any time you travel outside the area in which 
you reside. You may be eligible while traveling if:
•	 You travel in search of work for up to four 

consecutive weeks. You must be legally eligible to 
accept work in the area of travel and to actively 
search for work during each week you travel. 
Regulations only allow for in-person work searches 
done while traveling. You can show reasonable 
efforts to find work by making verifiable in-person 
contact with an employment service representative 
(e.g., two in-person employer contacts, in-
person prearranged job interview, or in-person 
registration with the local chapter of your union).

•	 You travel to accept an offer of work beginning 
within 14 days of your departure.

•	 You travel to your home following discharge from 
the armed services.

•	 You were paid UI benefits the week prior to your travel, 
did not refuse an offer of work and you travel to:
•	 obtain medical services, or accompany a 

spouse or dependent(s) to obtain medical 
services not available where you live, on the 
advice of a healthcare provider.

•	 attend the funeral of an immediate family 
member for up to seven days.

If you travel or relocate outside the U.S., 
Canada, Puerto Rico, or the U.S. Virgin Islands, 
you are not eligible to collect benefits.
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WHEN TO FILE A NEW CLAIM or 
REOPEN AN EXISTING CLAIM
File a new claim immediately if you are:

•	 Separated (quit, fired, laid off) from work.
•	 Working on-call or part-time.

You must reopen your claim immediately if:
•	 You stop filing weekly claims for any 

reason and want to start filing again.
•	 You move out of Alaska, move from one 

state to another, or move from one area 
to another within a state.

•	 You travel in search of work for more than 
four weeks.

INFO YOU NEED BEFORE FILING
•	 Your Social Security number
•	 If not a U.S. citizen, your alien registration 

number, work permit type, passport 
number and expiration date

•	 Name, mailing address, and phone 
number of your last employer

•	 Dates of employment
•	 Hours and gross wages earned in the last 

week you worked
•	 Gross amount of holiday, vacation, 

severance or bonus received the last week 
you worked

•	 If you worked for the federal government 
in the past 18 months you will need an 
SF-8 or SF-50

•	 If you were active-duty military in the past 
18 months you will need copy 4 of your 
DD-214

•	 Retirement information if currently 
receiving retirement payments
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HOW TO FILE A NEW CLAIM or 
REOPEN AN EXISTING CLAIM

For the fastest service, apply online. Our 
online services are available 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. You can also call a UI claim 
center. (For claim center hours and phone 
numbers, see Page 22.) Claims are effective 
Sunday of the week in which you open or reopen.

To file on the Internet, log in to  
my.alaska.gov and click “View Your Services,” 
then “Unemployment Insurance Benefits.”

IMPORTANT: To submit applications online, you 
must read and certify as instructed, and click “I 
AGREE” to complete the application process. Keep 
a copy for your records and comply as instructed, 
or benefits may be denied. The confirmation page 
will provide important links such as for AlaskaJobs, 
direct deposit and work-search log.

myAlaska
You must use the same myAlaska account 

each time you access the UI website. If you 
previously registered with myAlaska to apply for 
your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend, or for other 
reasons, you may use the same account. Please 
store your myAlaska account information safely for 
future reference. To ensure your privacy and the 
security of your information, remember to log out 
of myAlaska when you finish your session.

IMPORTANT: Whether filing online or by phone, 
you are responsible for the answers provided and 
payments made using your username, password, 
and PIN. These electronic signatures have the 
same legal authority as your signature on paper. 
Do NOT share your username, password, or 
PIN with anyone.

https://my.alaska.gov/
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FILING WEEKLY CLAIMS
When you open a new claim or reopen an 

existing claim, you will be given dates for when 
to file your weekly claim. You must file every 
week or two to keep your claim active and to 
receive benefits. Weeks that are filed late may be 
disqualified.

The first eligible week of a new claim is a “waiting 
week.” You do not receive payment for this week.

You must file to get credit for the week and 
meet the same requirements as any other week.

WEEKLY CLAIM QUESTIONS
Each of the questions on the weekly UI 

benefits application pertains only to the week(s) 
listed on the form. Depending on your answers, 
you may be asked additional questions or to 
complete a questionnaire.
•	 Were you available and physically able 

to work full time each day?
•	 Did you miss work or refuse a job offer 

or job referral?
If you turned down work or refused to be 
scheduled for work by an employer, answer yes.

•	 Were you attending school or a training 
program?

•	 Did you travel or move to a different town?
If you traveled outside the area in which you 
reside, traveled to accept a definite offer of work, 
or if you relocated to a new town, answer yes.

•	 Did you receive vacation, sick, retirement, 
bonus, holiday, or severance pay?
If you received any of the above payments 
report the income in the week it was received. 
Do not report Social Security. If you answer 
yes but do not report an amount, you will be 
advised to contact the UI claim center. Failure to 
contact the claim center as advised may result 
in the denial or late payment of your benefits.
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•	 Did you work for an employer, or were 
you self-employed?
If you worked for an employer — whether it is 
full-time, part-time, temporary, casual/day labor, 
etc. — you are required to report the amount 
you earned, hours you worked, the employer’s 
name and address, and the last day you worked 
in the week you are claiming. You must report 
the wages that you earned in the week that you 
worked not when you are paid for the work. If 
you performed self-employment services, you 
must report the number of hours you spent on 
your business and your net income.

•	 Did you search for work?
You are required to provide information on 
weekly work search contacts. (Please see 
work search contact requirements.)

How to report hours worked
When reporting your hours worked in regular 

or self-employment, include any partial hours 
in 15-minute increments (15 minutes=.25, 30 
minutes=.50, 45 minutes=.75). For example, if 
you worked 3 hours and 45 minutes, enter 3.75. 
If you work 7 hours and 15 minutes, enter 7.25.

How to report gross wages
Your gross wage is the total amount you 

earned before any deductions. You must report 
your gross wages earned each week, Sunday 
through Saturday, whether you were paid or not.

Multiply the total number of hours worked by 
the total hourly wage. Report dollars and cents 
rounded to the nearest cent.

For example: You worked 3 hours and 45 
minutes in one week, and you earn $10.25 an 
hour. Multiply total hours worked (3.75) by hourly 
wage ($10.25) to obtain gross earnings ($38.4375). 
Round wages to the nearest cent to report $38.44.

IMPORTANT: Factor in any overtime performed, 
including tips or earnings from commissions.
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How to report net income when self 
employed

To calculate your net income for the week, 
take your gross income earned from your self-
employment and subtract your business expenses 
for that week.

If you did not and will not receive payment 
for the self-employment services, you must still 
report the hours you spent on your business.

How to report employment status

After reporting that you worked for 
an employer you will be asked about your 
employment status. You will be given the 
following options: laid off, working on call, 
working part-time, quit, or fired.

If you are a part-time or on-call employee and 
work 40 or more hours in a week, do not report 
your status as full-time.

Misreporting the status of your employment 
may result in a delay in payment.

If you fail to report that you were fired or 
have quit your job, you may have to repay 
benefits already paid to you in error, and you may 
be subject to penalties for fraud.

FILING ONLINE
MyAlaska is a quick and easy full-service site 

to file for benefits and manage your account. Log 
in to my.alaska.gov, and click “View Your Services,” 
then “Unemployment Insurance Benefits.”

IMPORTANT: When filing online, additional 
information may be requested. If you are 
instructed to contact the claim center on your 
confirmation page, you must do so, or benefits 
may be denied.
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Internet menu

(Options may be different based on your claim 
status)

•	 File a new claim or reopen an existing 
claim

•	 File Extended Benefits (if available)
•	 File for a week of UI benefits
•	 Current Claim Status and Work Search 

Requirements — shows last payment, 
current mailing address, and account 
status

•	 Direct Deposit — start, change, or verify 
direct deposit account

•	 If you cancel your direct deposit, you will 
be sent a debit card

•	 Debit card enrollment
•	 Debit card holder account information
•	 Help finding a job, AlaskaJobs
•	 1099-G tax information (if available)

Helpful information

You can change your mailing and/or physical 
address online by completing a claim application; 
your registration requirements may be affected.

Help Icon will provide additional 
instructions and requirements.

IMPORTANT: It is your responsibility to read all 
UI mail, and to contact the UI claim center any 
time you are instructed to do so. Failure to do 
so may result in denial of your UI benefits.
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PAYMENT METHODS

Payments will be automatically dispensed through a 
debit card unless you set up direct deposit. Electronic 
payment is typically deposited within three business 
days of filing your weekly certifications. You can sign 
up for direct deposit or a debit card online. 

Debit card
Unless you establish direct deposit a debit card 

and information packet will be mailed to you when 
you file a claim for benefits. The packet includes 
information on how to activate your card and contact 
numbers for customer service. 

Direct deposit
You can set up, reactivate, or cancel your direct 

deposit by selecting “Direct Deposit” on our online 
Benefit Internet Filing (BIF) system. You will need the 
following information to establish direct deposit:

1.	 The routing number is 9 digits surrounded by |:
2.	 The account number (do not include hyphens 

or other special characters)
3.	 Do not enter the check number

IMPORTANT: Direct deposit is automatically 
suspended if it has not been used for a year. Your 
benefits will be issued to your debit card until direct 
deposit is re-established.

 




 



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FILING BY PHONE — VICTOR
If you are unable to file online, you can file weekly by 

phone using the automated filing system VICTOR. VICTOR 
does not provide full service and has limited hours. Alaska 
residents more than 55 road miles from an Alaska job 
center can file 6 a.m.-7 p.m. Wednesday-Saturday, 
AST. All other VICTOR filers can file 6 a.m.-7 p.m. on 
Thursdays. For VICTOR phone numbers, see Page 22.

VICTOR menu
1.	 To file weekly claims
2.	 For information about your claim

•	 Payment status — You will be given information 
about the last two weeks you claimed

•	 Excess earnings amount
•	 1099-G amount — the amount of benefits and 

withholdings reported to the IRS on form 1099-G
3.	 Start, change, or cancel direct deposit

•	 Option to set up, cancel, or confirm direct 
deposit to your personal bank account

•	 Status of debit card
•	 You cannot cancel or request a debit card 

through VICTOR
4.	 Current mailing address
5.	 Change your VICTOR PIN

•	 You may change your previously established PIN
•	 When changing your PIN, choose a four-digit 

number you have not previously used
•	 Once you set up your PIN, it is in effect until 

you change it
•	 If you do not know your PIN, contact the UI 

claim center for assistance
6.	 Speak to a claim center representative

IMPORTANT: If you hang up before VICTOR tells 
you your claim has been accepted, your answers will 
not be recorded and your claim will not be processed. 
You will need to call back and file again. If you are 
instructed by VICTOR to call the UI claim center, you 
must call within seven days. Your benefits will be 
denied if you do not contact the UI claim center as 
instructed. If you report less money than you earned, 
you will be required to repay the benefit amount and 
may be subject to penalties for fraud.
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APPEAL RIGHTS
You may appeal any written determination that 

denies or restricts your benefits. You must phone, fax, 
mail, or email your request for an appeal to your UI 
claim center or the Appeals office within 30 days of the 
determination. (Include your SSN or claimant ID with 
the issue you are appealing.) For contact information, 
see the other UI contacts section of this handbook.

Appeals will schedule a hearing and mail a notice 
to you (contact Appeals if not received within three 
weeks). After the hearing, you will receive a decision 
in the mail. If you disagree with the decision, you have 
the right to further appeal.

•	 Continue to file your weekly claims throughout 
the appeal process.

•	 If the decision is in your favor, weeks which 
were not filed timely cannot be paid.

Contact the Appeals office directly with questions, 
or go to labor.alaska.gov/appeals.

Per Alaska Statute 23.20.110(r), appeal 
hearing decisions are public information and are 
posted online at appeals.dol.alaska.gov. Select 
“Appeal Tribunal Decisions.”

AUDITS

Quality Control audit
Under federal requirements, we may randomly 

select and audit your claim to ensure that all payments 
or denials of benefits were properly made. Auditors 
check all information you provide for accuracy. The 
reviews are thorough and may involve an interview 
with you and other interested parties. Failure to 
respond to a Quality Control audit request for 
information will result in a denial of benefits.

For more information, contact QC:
	 Email:	 dol.qc@alaska.gov
	 Website:	 labor.alaska.gov/qc/claimants.htm
	 Juneau:	 (907) 465-3000
	 Toll-free:	 (800) 478-2999
	 Fax:	 (907) 465-2247
	 Toll-free fax:	 (800) 478-4847

https://labor.alaska.gov/appeals/
https://appeals.dol.alaska.gov/
mailto:dol.qc%40alaska.gov?subject=
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UI Crossmatch
Crossmatch compares the earnings you reported 

with your employers’ reports of earnings. This process 
discovers errors in reported earnings which may have 
resulted in a mispayment of benefits. This also is done 
for persons who may have worked in other states. If 
you fail to report earnings correctly, a 50% penalty 
may be assessed, and future benefits denied.

OVERPAYMENT OF BENEFITS

Repayment
You are entitled only to benefits for which you are 

eligible. You must repay all benefits that are overpaid 
even if you were paid in error. Overpayments are 
legally enforceable debts.

Payment arrangement can be made by contacting 
a Benefit Payment Control claims technician Monday-
Friday, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. AST, at (888) 810-6789, or 
(907) 465-2863 in Juneau.

EXTENDED BENEFITS
EB provides additional benefits during times of 

high unemployment for those who exhaust their 
regular benefits. These benefits are available only 
while this program is active. When the program 
becomes active you will be mailed EB instructions.

ALASKA JOB CENTERS
If you are interested in seeking work, job training, 

or advancing in a career, check in with one of the 
Alaska job centers listed online at:

jobs.alaska.gov/offices
or call (877) 724-2539

https://jobs.alaska.gov/offices/
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CLAIM CENTER PHONE NUMBERS
If you need assistance regarding your claim, call 

the number closest to your community or visit us 
online at:

labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/ 
call-centers.htm

	 Anchorage UI Claim Center:	 (907) 269-4700
	 Fairbanks UI Claim Center:	 (907) 451-2871
	 Juneau UI Claim Center:	 (907) 465-5552
	Toll-free for remote locations:	 (888) 252-2557
		  (888) 25CALLS
	 Fax:	 (888) 353-2937
		  (888) 35FAXES

Telephone hours are 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Alaska 
Standard Time, Monday-Friday (except federal or state 
holidays). Relay Alaska and tele-interpreter services 
are available at no cost to you.

VICTOR PHONE NUMBERS
Call the number closest to your community:

	 Anchorage	 (907) 277-0693
	 Fairbanks	 (907) 451-6126
	 Juneau	 (907) 586-4650
If you are in a remote location that has been 

determined to be underserved for broadband internet 
service, you may still have access to the toll-free 
number: (888) 222-9989.

OTHER UI CONTACTS

APPEALS
	 Email:	 appeals@alaska.gov
	 Website:	 labor.alaska.gov/appeals
	 Juneau:	 P.O. Box 115509
		  JUNEAU, AK 99811-5509
	 Fax:	 (907) 465-3374
	 Toll-free:	 (800) 232-4762

http://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/call-centers.htm 
http://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/call-centers.htm 
mailto:appeals%40alaska.gov?subject=
https://labor.alaska.gov/appeals/
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BENEFIT PAYMENT CONTROL
	 Email:	 uifraud@alaska.gov
	 Website:	 labor.alaska.gov/ 

		  unemployment/bpc.htm

	 Juneau:	 P.O. Box 115509
		  JUNEAU, AK 99811-5509
	 Phone:	 (907) 465-2863
	 Fax:	 (907) 465-6010
	 Toll-free:	 (888) 810-6789 (remote locations)

	Anchorage:	 3301 Eagle St., #205
		  ANCHORAGE, AK 99503
	 Phone:	 (907) 269-4880
	 Fax:	 (907) 269-4835
	 Outside 
	Anchorage:	 (877) 272-4635

	Fairbanks:	 675 7th Ave., Station L
		  FAIRBANKS, AK 99701
	 Phone:	 (907) 451-2952
	 Fax:	 (907) 451-2883
	 Outside 
	 Fairbanks:	 (877) 272-4635

Relay Alaska for the deaf and hard of hearing:
If you need assistance with your unemployment claim, 

dial 711 from inside Alaska or (800) 770-8255  
(toll-free) from outside the state.

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Division of Employment and Training Services

P.O. Box 115509, Juneau, AK 99811-5509
Printed for the Alaska DOLWD Division of  

Employment and Training Services, in Juneau, Alaska, 
in September 2022, at a cost of $0.15 per copy.
We are an equal opportunity employer/program. 

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request 
to individuals with disabilities.

Form 210-804

mailto:uifraud%40alaska.gov?subject=
https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/bpc.htm
https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/bpc.htm
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VISIT US ON THE 
INTERNET

UI HOME:
labor.alaska.gov/

unemployment

FILE A CLAIM:
my.alaska.gov

(Log in and click on the “Services” tab, then 
“Unemployment Insurance Benefits.”)

Register for employment 
(AlaskaJobs):

alaskajobs.alaska.gov

ALASKA JOB CENTERS:
jobs.alaska.gov/offices

https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/
https://labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/
https://my.alaska.gov/
https://alaskajobs.alaska.gov/vosnet/Default.aspx
https://jobs.alaska.gov/offices/

