Waiting week

The first eligible week of your claim is called a waiting week. You do not receive payment for this week, yet you must file to get credit for the week before benefits can be paid.

How wages affect your benefits

You can earn \$50 weekly without reducing your benefit check, but you must report the wages in the week you earn them even if you have not been paid yet. Your benefit check will be reduced by \$.75 for each dollar you earn over \$50. Wages include room and board, tips, commission, goods, barter, stipend, honorarium, per diem, COLA, payment for jury duty, and back pay awards.

Payment of benefits

All UI benefit payments will be disbursed electronically by direct deposit or debit card, which you can sign up for online. If direct deposit is not established, a debit card will be sent. Electronic payment is deposited approximately five days after filing biweekly certificates.

Benefits are taxable

UI benefits are taxable income. You may request that 10 percent of benefits be withheld for taxes.

Registration for work

If you are in Alaska and advised to do so, you must register for work. Go online to the Alaska Job Center Network at **jobs.alaska.gov,** and create and post an online resumé. Your resumé must remain online for continued eligibility. This must be completed within seven days of filing your new or re-opened claim.

Reemployment Services

Reemployment Services are available for job seekers, especially UI claimants, who are seeking information that will lead to the rapid return to suitable work. Employment and training resources are available through the Alaska job centers. Register in AlaskaJobs at **alaskaJobs.alaska.gov** and view the Reemployment Services Orientation from the profile page.

Fraud

Alaska law provides severe penalties for attempting to collect benefits to which you are not entitled. For UI purposes, fraud is knowingly making a false statement, misrepresenting a material fact or withholding information to obtain benefits. You will be required to repay the benefits. All fraud cases are subject to criminal prosecution, fines and imprisonment.

CLAIM CENTERS

If you need assistance regarding your claim, visit us online:

labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/ call-centers.htm

Anchorage UI Claim Center	· (907) 269-4700
Fairbanks UI Claim Center	(907) 451-2871
Juneau UI Claim Center	(907) 465-5552
Toll free for remote location	s: (888) 252-2557
	(888) 25CALLS
Fax (888) 35	3-2937/(888) 35FAXES

Telephone hours are 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday-Friday (except holidays).

Alaska Relay for the hearing impaired: If you need assistance with your UI claim, dial **711** from inside Alaska or **(800) 770-8255** (toll-free) from outside the state.



A proud partner of the **americanjobcenter** network

We are an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available for individuals with disabilities.

Rev. 5/23

Alaska Unemployment Insurance



General information

labor.alaska.gov/ unemployment

T his pamphlet provides a brief overview of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) program and how to file for UI.

Information you need before filing

- Your Social Security Number
- If not a U.S. citizen, your alien registration number, work permit type, passport number and expiration date
- Name of last employer, mailing address and phone
- Dates of employment
- Hours and gross wages earned in your last week of work
- Gross amount of holiday, vacation, severance or bonus received the last week you worked
- If you worked for the federal government in the past 18 months you will need SF8 or SF50
- If you were active duty military in the past 18 months, copy 4 of your DD214
- Retirement information if currently receiving retirement payments

Eligibility requirements

- You must be able and available to accept full-time work in any occupation that is consistent with your prior training and experience.
- You must have transportation (car, bus, walk, etc.), and child care available if work is offered.
- Employers and the Alaska job center both must be able to contact you.
- You are required to actively seek suitable work and report valid work search contacts for each week you are claiming benefits, unless you have been instructed otherwise.
- You can travel in search of work for up to four weeks, provided you make a reasonable effort to find work, which includes two documented in-person work searches each week.
- You may be eligible to receive benefits while attending approved vocational or academic training.



Online filing

UI services are provided through the Internet 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

To file online, log on to my.alaska.gov and click on "Unemployment Insurance Benefits."

From this website you can:

- File a new claim, reopen an existing claim
- File for biweekly benefit payments Benefits are paid biweekly. Once you have opened a claim, you need to file every two weeks to receive payments. Each week starts on Sunday and ends at midnight on Saturday.
- View claim status last payment, current mailing address and account status
- **Direct deposit** start, change or verify direct deposit account
- Debit card enrollment
- AlaskaJobs get help finding a job
- 1099/Tax information

Filing a new claim

• The effective date of your claim is Sunday of the week in which you file your claim.

- A benefit year is typically 52 weeks, sometimes 53 weeks, following the effective date of your claim.
- For questions, contact the claim center or visit us online at labor.alaska.gov/ unemployment.

Amount/duration of benefits

The maximum weekly benefit amount in Alaska is \$370. The minimum weekly benefit amount is \$56. Your claim is based on wages paid to you in the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters from when you file your claim.

If you do not qualify, we will use wages earned in the last four completed calendar quarters from when you file your claim. The duration of benefits is 16 to 26 weeks depending on the amount and distribution of wages paid in the base period.

	Base period is				New claim effective in				
Oct Nov Dec	Jan Feb Mar	April May June	July Aug Sept		Jan Feb Mar	•			
	Jan Feb Mar	April May June	July Aug Sept	Oct Nov Dec		April May June	,		
		April May June	July Aug Sept	Oct Nov Dec	Jan Feb Mar		July Aug Sept	V	
Year			July Aug Sept	Oct Nov Dec	Jan Feb Mar	April May June		Oct Nov Dec	
before last	Last year			This year					

Allowance for dependents

You may be eligible to receive an additional allowance of \$24 per week per child for up to three children. A dependent is your unmarried child, stepchild, legally adopted child or court-appointed legal ward. Your dependent must be under the age of 18, unless he or she has a long-term disability.

A dependent must live with you, or you must certify that you provide more than 50 percent of the dependent's support over the past 12 months or since the loss of custody. You may be requested to provide documentation for dependent allowance eligibility.