Click Bishop Commissioner P.O. Box 111149

Juneau, AK 99811-1149

www.labor.alaska.gov

Press Release

COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 23, 2008

No. 08-62

Beth Leschper

cell: 907.723.1321

907.465.2700

Communications Director

beth.leschper@alaska.gov

For more information: Sandy Cannon, Statewide Supervisor, Wage and Hour (907)269-4909, <u>Sandy.Cannon@Alaska.Gov</u>

STATE OF

DEPA

AND WO

ASKA

Federal Minimum Wage Increases to \$6.55; Alaska Still Ahead at \$7.15

JUNEAU, Alaska—Effective July 24, the federal minimum wage will increase from \$5.85 to \$6.55 per hour. Alaska's current minimum wage is \$7.15 per hour.

Based on work activity, there are several classes of employees that are not subject to Alaska's minimum wage law. Typically, those classes of employees must be paid at least the federal minimum wage.

"It is important for Alaska's employers to take note of the change and ensure compliance," said Grey Mitchell, director of Labor Standards and Safety. "Perhaps the largest class of employees affected by the federal increase in Alaska is the group of workers under 18 who are employed not more than 30 hours per week. But other categories of employees, such as assistant hunting guides or workers engaged in commercial fishing, may also be affected."

Alaska's minimum wage was last increased on Jan. 1, 2003, from \$5.65 to \$7.15 per hour, and is currently in the median compared to Western states:

Wyoming	\$5.15
Nevada	\$6.33
Idaho	\$6.55
Montana	\$6.55
Arizona	\$6.90
Alaska	\$7.15
Alaska Hawaii	\$7.15 \$7.25
	•
Hawaii	\$7.25

On July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage will increase to \$7.25 per hour.