Click Bishop Commissioner P.O. Box 111149 Juneau, AK 99811-1149 www.labor.state.ak.us



Guy Bell Asst. Commissioner 907.465.2700

fax: 907.465.2784

guy.bell@alaska.gov

Press Release

COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Feb. 22, 2008

No. 08-45

For More Information: Jenny George, Administrative Officer

(907) 465-4855, jenny.george@alaska.gov

Safety and Health Award Nomination Deadline Extended to March 7

(Juneau, AK) – The Alaska Safety Advisory Council has extended the deadline to March 7 to make award nominations associated with the 2008 Governor's Safety and Health Conference.

The awards recognize Alaska employers and individuals for achievements in safety and health, as well as for excellence in safety and health systems that protect employees and promote corporate citizenship. The awards include the Governor's Safety Award of Excellence, the Governor's Special Achievement Award and the Governor's William "Tinker" Childress Memorial Award.

The awards are a great way to showcase successes in safety and health. For information about making a nomination, go to <u>regonline.com/GHSC08</u> on the Web, or contact Heather Conlin at (907) 780-5866 or Zeb Woodman at (907) 456-4584.

Alaska's 2008 Governor's Safety and Health Conference is March 20-21 at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel in Anchorage. The conference's training tracks include cold weather safety, employer resources, safety education, public safety, health and safety injury prevention, the U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Safety & Health Administration 10-hour construction outreach, and the USDOL's Mine Safety and Health Administration 30 CFR Part 46 for sand, gravel and aggregate producers.

For more information about conference registration, go to <u>regonline.com/GHSC08</u> listed above or call (907) 276-6060. Don't miss this opportunity for some outstanding training!

The Alaska Safety Advisory Council promotes health and safety issues with a focus on Alaska workplaces. It's organized within the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development and has 14 members representing industry, labor, the general public, and federal, state and local governments.