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1) What is the Little Davis-Bacon Act?
The Little Davis-Bacon Act (LDBA) is a set of State laws in Title 36 that establishes minimum wage and associated
requirements for labor on public construction contracts awarded by the State of Alaska or a political subdivision of
the state that exceed $25,000.00. The minimum wage (or the prevailing rate of pay) applies to construction-related
workers, regardless of whether they are employees or not. The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce
Development, Wage and Hour Administration (DOLWD) publishes the prevailing minimum wages twice a year
at: http://www.labot.state.ak.us/Iss/pamp600.htm. The primary purpose of the LDBA is to establish a level
playing field for labor costs associated with public construction projects.

2) What is the difference between Davis-Bacon and Little Davis-Bacon?
The Davis-Bacon Act (DBA) is a set of federal laws applicable to federal public construction projects. The Little
Davis-Bacon Act (LDBA) is a set of state laws applicable to state projects. Some projects, such as certain highway
projects, may be funded with both federal and state funds and may be covered by both federal and state laws. In
these cases, construction contractors must comply with the most stringent provisions of both sets of laws.

3) What should a person do if they don’t know whether a project is subject to the prevailing wage
requirements?
Contact the regional Wage and Hour Administration office where the project is located for a determination.

4) Are there any fees that must be paid when working on a public construction project?
Yes. Before beginning work, the prime contractor (the person or entity that enters into the contract with
the contracting agency) must file a “Notice of Work” (NOW) with DOLWD, and pay all applicable filing
fees through the online system by logging into myAlaska, at: https://my.alaska.gov and clicking on LSS -

Online Filing Services.

5) How much are the filing fees?
The filing fee is one percent (1%) of the total contract amount, including all subcontract work, up to a
maximum fee of $5,000.00. Only the prime contractor is required to pay the filing fee. Filing fees are paid
by clicking on “Pay Filing Fees Electronically” in the LSS - Online Filing Services system.

6) Can a contractor begin work on the contract right away and submit the NOW and pay the
filing fee at a later date?
Not unless it is for work undertaken in immediate response to an emergency. If so, the notice and fee are to be
filed no later than 14 days after the work has begun.

7) What if the prime contractor begins work on the contract and fails to pay the filing fee and
fails to submit the NOW?
DOLWD may direct the contracting agency to withhold accrued project/contract funds until the filing
fees are paid and the required NOW is filed.

8) Are there any forms that must be submitted upon completion of the contract?
Yes. Upon completion of all work on the public construction contract, the prime contractor must file a
“Notice of Completion” (NOC). This is done electronically through the LSS - Online Filing Services
under myAlaska at https://my.alaska.gov by clicking on “File Notice of Completion.” Upon approval by
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DOLWD, the NOC is then presented to the contracting agency by the contractor in order to receive
their final pay on the contract.

9) What if the original contract amount changed and the value of the work increased or was
reduced (change orders)?
Additional filing fees to be paid or refunds owed the contractor because of changes made to the contract
amount are reconciled at the conclusion of the contract with the filing of the NOC through LSS - Online

Filing Services. Contractors must pay additional fees owed or request a refund for any excess fees paid at
the time of filing the NOC.

10) How is the DOLWD project number and name assigned and where can they be found?
Contracting agencies are required to submit Notifications of Award (NOA) to DOLWD prior to project
numbers being assigned. Once this NOA is approved, project numbers and names are emailed by
DOLWD to the contracting agencies and prime contractors through LSS - Online Filing Services. It is
the prime contractor’s responsibility to ensure all subcontractors receive the DOLWD project number
and name.

11) How often do employees have to be paid when they are working on a public construction
project?
They must be paid their wages weekly and unconditionally. There are no exceptions.

12) Do the LDB laws require the same prevailing wages for the entire state?
No. There Are Two Primary Regions:

e Northern Alaska/Southeast Alaska - (the area north of N63 latitude and east of W138 longitude.);
and

e Southcentral Alaska - (the area south of N63 latitude and west of W138 longitude.)

13) What should a person do if they are unsure of the correct wage classification?
Contact the nearest regional Wage and Hour Administration office for assistance.

14) Is there a requirement to post the minimum wage rates for the various classifications of
workers?
Yes. The scale of wages (Pamphlet 600) must be posted in a prominent and accessible place at every
project work site.

15) What is a certified payroll?

Certified payroll is a specially formatted payroll report that contains information about who worked on a

public construction contract, what their work classification was, how many hours they worked and how

much the contractor paid them. Certified payroll also contains a “Statement of Compliance” which

contains legal language and requires a company official’s affirmation and original signature. By signing

this statement of compliance, many things are being sworn to and confirmed by the owner(s) of the

company and for which the company is liable. They are:

e All persons performing work on the project(s) have been paid all of their wages earned, free and clear
without rebates or kickbacks to the company;

e All employees listed on this payroll have been paid an amount not less than the applicable basic
houtly rate of pay for all hours worked (including overtime);

e All fringe benefits have either been paid in full directly to the employee, or that the fringes have been
paid into approved plans, funds or programs;
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e Only lawful deductions have been made;

e The company is in full compliance with the Alaska Employment Preference Act as stated in AS
36.10; and

e Any and all apprentices have been propetly registered with the US Department of Labor, Office of
Apprenticeship.

16) How often are certified payrolls submitted?
Certified payrolls must be submitted by the Friday of every second week. Certified payrolls can be filed

electronically by logging into myAlaska, at: https://my.alaska.gov and clicking on LSS - Online Filing
Services.

17) If the prime contractor requires the subcontractor to file certified payrolls with them, does this
take care of the subcontractor’s filing requirements with the Department?
No. The law requires that all subcontractors and contractors file payrolls with the DOLWD.

18) Do owner/operators have to be listed on certified payrolls?
Yes. An owner/operator is a sole proprietor, partnership, or an LLC that has elected to file their taxes as
a sole proprietor or partnership, and who performs hands-on work on a public construction work-site.
Owner/operators must list the actual hours worked on-site and the prevailing rate of pay they are
receiving. They must also list the classification and class code that corresponds to the work they
performed on-site. The only difference between them and an employee is that they are not required to be
paid on a weekly basis, but must show on the certified payroll that they have received the proper rate of
pay when they receive payment for their work.

19) As an officer or shareholder of a corporation, or a member of an LLC who files taxes as a
corporation, should I be paid the prevailing wage and be included on our certified payroll
report if I performed hands-on work on a public construction project site?

Yes. As the corporation and LLC structure creates a separate legal entity for liabilities, the owners are
considered employees of the business entity. Therefore, the business must report and pay owners the
same as it would any other employee — weekly and unconditionally.

20) How is overtime calculated on prevailing rates of pay?
Overtime compensation is 12 times the employee’s basic houtly rate of pay. Fringe benefits must be
paid for all hours worked, but not at time and a half. Employees are entitled to overtime compensation
for hours worked over eight hours in a single day. Employees are also entitled to overtime compensation
for hours worked over 40 hours in a single week. To count the hours over 40 hours in a week, count only
the daily hours the employee worked up to eight hours for each day he/she worked. If the employee
worked over eight hours on any day that week, those hours have already been counted as overtime hours
and need not be counted again.

21) How is an employee to be paid who works at more than one job classification/class code with
different rates of pay?
The employee is due the minimum prevailing rate of pay for each job classification in which he/she
performs work. A contractor may break down the specific hours and rates for each classification, or they
may choose to simplify and pay him/her for all hours at the highest rate. If the employee is paid at more
than one rate and works overtime, the contractor will need to pay overtime utilizing the weighted average
method.



Public Construction Page 4 of 6 Revised December 2016
FAQs

22) How is overtime calculated using the weighted average?
Because overtime is calculated by the week, all the hours that the employee worked under each
classification for the entire week, including both public construction and any private sector work, must
be taken into consideration. Overtime is calculated by using a blended and proportional weighted average
of all rates. For further details and assistance about using the weighted average formula, please contact
the nearest regional Wage and Hour Administration office.

23) Does a foreman/superintendent have to be paid the prevailing rates of pay?
Only if they perform hands-on work on-site, and then they must be paid the prevailing rates of pay for
the appropriate work classification(s).

24) My foreman receives a salary of $1,000 per week for 40 hours of work. When petforming
“hands-on” work, can he/she be paid the prevailing wage rate out of the $1000 and be paid
the difference as a lump sum for other hours worked?

No. The employee’s rate of pay in this example is $25 per hour ($1000 + 40 = $25 per hour). The
foreman must be paid the proper prevailing rate, including fringe benefits, for the classification of work
performed.

25) Is my foreman/supervisor exempt from overtime?
It depends. Very specific criteria must be met in order to correctly classify an employee as being exempt
from overtime. Contact the nearest regional Wage and Hour Administration office for more specific
information.

26) Can a contractor put the worker’s fringe benefit contribution into a plan without the worker’s
permission?
Yes. But only if the plan conforms to regulation 8AAC 30.025, is acceptable to the IRS, and meets
requirements under 29 U.S.C. 1001-1461, (the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 —
ERISA).

27) Can employees be paid a training wage while learning their job?
A contractor must pay the published prevailing wage, unless the employee is enrolled/registered in an
approved apprenticeship program registered with the U. S. Department of Labor, Office of
Apprenticeship (telephone: (907) 271-5035, fax: (907) 271-5024). Note: the plan must be approved and
the employee must be enrolled/registered in the employet’s plan. There is one exception for a trainee
propetly registered under the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Trainee
Program.

28) How does an employee become registered as an apprentice?
Contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship at (907) 271-5035.

29) When and to whom must per diem be paid?
Three criteria are evaluated to determine if room and board is mandatory for a worker employed on a
public construction project. All three conditions must be met.
e Tirst, the project must be located 65 road miles or more from the international airport in Anchorage,
Fairbanks, or Juneau. If it is a highway/road project, the distance is measured from the center of the
project.
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e Second, if the project qualifies, the applicable Pamphlet 600 (Laborers’ & Mechanics’ Minimum
Rates of Pay) must be examined to determine if the job classification requires room and board to be
provided.

e TFinally, the worker’s permanent, physical, domicile residence must be more than 65 road miles from
the project for the worker to be entitled to receive room and board.

Per diem is an alternative to room and board and is paid at $75 per day. If only a room is provided, then

the worker shall be paid $36 per/day for meals.

30) How long does an employer have to keep payroll records?
Payroll records must be kept for a period of three years.

31) What should workers do if they have not been paid properly?
The workers should discuss the matter with their employer, and contact the Wage and Hour
Administration immediately if the employer does not pay the wages due. Workers should always keep a
personal record of their hours worked and save their pay stubs to verify the amount of wages received. If
work is performed in more than one classification/class code, the workers should identify the specific
time of day they performed the various work, as well as the total hours worked in each classification.

32) Does a contractor or sub-contractor have to hire 90% Alaskans on a public construction
contract?

It depends. The Employment Preference Act, otherwise known as Alaska’s Local Hire law, requires 90%
of the hired workers to be Alaskan residents. The hiring preference applies on a project-by-project, craft-
by-craft or occupational basis and must be met each workweek by each contractor/subcontractor. The
area(s) or zone(s) of the state where the 90% hiring preference applies may change periodically and is
updated every two years. A current and updated determination is available at:
http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/res-hire-noticel.pdf.

33) What if the needed workers are specially trained and the contractor cannot find enough
workers to make up the 90% Alaskan resident workers quota?
Contractors may apply for a waiver from the 90% Alaskan worker requirement by following an
established procedure. Contact the regional Wage and Hour Administration office to learn more about
this waiver process.

34) What are some common violations found by DOLWD?
e TFailure to pay the proper prevailing rates of pay for the classification worked;
e TFailure to keep an accurate record of the hours worked in each classification;
e Tailure to pay the correct fringe benefit amount;

e TFailure to pay the prevailing rates of pay on covered projects that have been awarded by private,
nonprofit corporations that are recipients of state grant money and use the funds for public projects;

e Tailure to pay filing fees and to submit all required forms pursuant to AS 36.05.045, to the
Department;

e Tailure to pay per diem, and
e TFailure to comply with the Alaska Employment Preference Act.
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35) What happens if a contractor/subcontractor fails to pay all of their employees properly?
DOLWD will take appropriate enforcement action to collect the wages for employees. If the
Department cannot collect from a subcontractor, the prime contractor is responsible for any wages due.
DOLWD can also withhold accrued contract payments in an amount to pay the workers.

36) Is any further action ever taken against violating contractors who have disregarded their
obligations to their employees?
Contractors who disregard their obligations to employees may be debarred from working on LDBA
projects for a period of three years. It is possible for a prime contractor to be debarred because of their
subcontractor’s violations.

37) Does DOLWD offer contractors any training that covers Title 36 and LDBA requirements?
Yes. DOLWD offers free monthly seminars in the regional Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau and Wasilla Wage and
Hour Administration offices. You can view the seminar flyers for each office at:
http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/whhome.htm.




